Previous Research Grant Recipients for U of I Faculty

U of I Faculty Members Awarded Research Grants in 2019

Arden Rowell, College of Law, University of Illinois
Project Title: Essential Envrinomental Law in Brazil
karowell@illinois.edu


U of I Faculty Members Awarded Research Grants in 2018

Gisela Sin, Political Science, University of Illinois
Project Title: Order in Chaos: Political Parties and Preferencial PR Systems in Brazil
gsin@illinois.edu


U of I Faculty Members Awarded Research Grants in 2015

Andrew Miller, Illinois Natural History Survey
Carol Ann Shearer, Department of Plant Biology
Project Title: Ecology, Systematics, and Functional Diversity of Brazilian Freshwater Ascomycetes
soc1024@illinois.edu

Michael Silvers, Illinois School of Music
Project Title: Voices of Drought: Forró Soundscapes in Northeastern Brazil
msilvers@illinois.edu


U of I Faculty Members Awarded Research Grants in 2014

Karen Margarett Tabb Dina
Assistant Professor in School of Social Work
Project Title: Postpartum Suicidal Ideation in Brazil
ktabb@illinois.edu


U of I Faculty Members Awarded Research Grants in 2013

Ruth Aguilera
Associate Professor, Department of Business Administration
Project Title: The Trojan horse of Latin America: Multinational expansion into Brazil as a regional launching pad 1990-2010.
agu@illinois.edu

Gisela Sin
Assistant Professor, Department of Political Science
Project Title: Veto bargaining and the legislative process in Brazil
gsin@illinois.edu

Andrew Suarez
Associate Professor, Department of Animal Biology
Project Title: Evolution of traits associated with invasion success in Brazilian Linepithema ants
avsuarez@illinois.edu


U of I Faculty Members Awarded Research Grants in 2012

Hayri Onal
Professor, Department of Agriculture, Consumer Economics
Project Title: An Economic Analysis of the Biofuel Mandats in the U.S. and Brazil and Intensification of the Brazilian Livestock Sector: Challenges and Opportunities
h-onal@illinois.edu

Matthew Winters
Assistant Professor, Department of Political Science
Project Title: Rouba, maz faz or not? Corruption, Information, and Accountability in Brazil
mwinters@illinois.edu

Marcelo Bucheli
Associate Professor, Business Administration / History
Project Title: National Elite, Multinational Corporations and Oil Policy in Brazil
mbucheli@illinois.edu


U of I Faculty Members Awarded Research Grants in 2011

Carla Santos
Associate Professor, Department of Recreation, Sport and Tourism
Project Title: Tourism and Socioeconomic Realities in Brazil: a framing analisys
csantos@illinois.edu

Ryan Shosted
Assistant Professor, Department of Linguistics
Project Title: The Articulation of Nasalized Vowels in Brazilian Portuguese
rshosted@illinois.edu

Irene Small
Assistant Professor, School of Art and Design
Project Title: Situating Transmission: Hercule Florence and the invention of photography in Brazil
ismall@illinois.edu

David Wright
Associate Professor, Department of English
Project Title: And in the Ruined Houses, a novel.
wright3@illinois.edu


U of I Faculty Members Awarded Research Grants in 2010

Flávia Andrade
Assistant Professor, Department of Kinesiology and Community Health
Project Title: Life Expectancy and Healthy Life expectancy in Brazil
fandrade@illinois.edu

Merle Bowen
Associate Professor, Department of Political Science, Director, Center for African Studies
Project Title: Economic Development and State Policies: Brazil’s Quilombo Communities
bowen@illinois.edu

Waïl Hassan
Associate Professor, Program in Comparative and World Literature
Project Title: Arab-Brazilian Literature and Culture
whassan@illinois.edu